Week 3: It’s all about the blog

Phew, week 3 already. And an easy task this week (or so I thought). Since I am doing this challenge, and posting status updates on Facebook about it, I thought I would go one step further and create a blog. I have never created or written a blog before, so that would fit in nicely with the challenge. And all you have to do is write some stuff and post it on the internet right? Wrong! Well, not wrong exactly; you do indeed need to write some stuff and post it on the internet.  But there are a lot of steps in between – you know, like setting up the blog.

I was pleased to find out that there are some good sites that allow you to create a blog for free and getting your own site on one of these is very easy. Fabulous. Finding my way around the creation process proved a little tricky and tiresome, but I am pretty good at all things computer, so I managed to work it out eventually.  And the writing part was easy – I pretty much write for a living, so that was done in no time. So what the hell did I spend the next 15 hours or so doing??!!

Yes, it has taken me about 15 hours to get to the point of sharing this blog with the world. Why? Well first I had to choose a template. Did you know there are a lot of templates one can choose from when creating a blog. No? Neither did I. And did you know that while the templates may look good in theory when someone else has spent the time making them look good (someone who might actually know what they are doing), once you start using a template for your own blog for some reason it just doesn’t turn out the same way? No? Neither did I!

I admit freely that some of the time it took to create this blog had to do with my perfectionist tendencies – constantly changing and rearranging little things here and there to make it all look and sound as good as I could make it look and sound with my limited knowledge of creating a blog site.

[Hmm, for some reason I am writing extraordinarily long sentences today which is somewhat unusual for me as I generally like to keep my sentences short and snappy. You don’t care do you? Just get the hell on with whatever it is you want to say so that we – the reader – can get back to doing something more productive than reading about someone’s attempts at blogging.]

So there I was, fiddling with a template and fighting with my inner perfectionist – choosing colours, discarding colours; searching my photos, uploading my photos (note: slow internet connection is not good for photo uploading – I could run around the house 5 times before each photo uploaded. Not that I would. Who would want to run around the house 5 times?); getting distracted by my photos;  working out why the photos would not put themselves where I was telling them to put themselves; forgetting to save my work and losing it all; finding ditty little functions to include on the site and then working out how the heck to use them; deciding I didn’t like the template once I had everything on there and changing it all. Oh yes, it has been fun this blogging business. Just call me the bloggantor. No seriously, don’t call me that. It sounds ridiculous.

I think the blog site is now in a place that I am happy to release it to the world. And when I say world, I mean my Facebook friends. And when I say my Facebook friends, I mean the 5 or so who may take the time to skim over it (thanks if you have – you are lovely).

And now I am off to give my bum a rest because it is sore from sitting on it for so long trying to get this blog happening. You know, this is the second post in which I have blogged about my bum. Methinks I may have an obsession with my bum. I certainly would like it to be smaller. But I am not going to lose sleep over it. Note to self: stop mentioning my bum in this blog. No more bum talk.

So just the one new thing this week. It took so much time I didn’t really have time for anything else. Well, I did have time for other things, but I didn’t want to waste them all in the first few weeks and be struggling around week 16 for things to do.

Introspection time-out

So what did I learn from the challenge this week?

I learnt that my bum has a low pain threshold (there I go with the bum talk again. Last mention. I promise).

I learnt that it is harder to create a blog than I originally thought. The same could be said for other things in life. Like dieting. And surfing (waves not the internet).

I learnt a lot of cool new tricks like how to link things without typing in the entire web link. That will come in handy one day.

I learnt that I really need to stop being such a perfectionist with things. No one else would care or notice if I didn’t have everything perfectly aligned or if I repeated the same word twice. And if they did care, I wouldn’t know about it anyway so it wouldn’t really matter. If a tree falls in the wood and no one hears it, did it really fall (that is not the saying is it? I can’t remember for the life of me how that saying goes right now).

I learnt that blogging can be a good distraction from your woes. In fact, concentrating on something, anything, is a good way to get you through some of  life’s tougher times. It gives you something to focus on instead of worrying about things that you can’t change.

I also remembered how much I like writing for pleasure. I write a lot for work, and I do enjoy that; but there is something special about writing for the joy of it. I learnt that it is important to reconnect with those things that you enjoy but which you don’t do much anymore because you are too busy, or you can’t be bothered, or for any of those other reasons that we all use. Do it, take time today and reconnect with something that you like doing, just because you like doing it, not because you have to. You won’t regret it.

Over and out for this week.

Until next time…’Our life is a stage, a comedy; either learn to play and take it lightly, or bear its troubles patiently’.
 

Posted on October 19, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

