Week 2: Bazinga!

So on to week 2 of the challenge. By day 4 on week 2 I still hadn’t come up with anything new to do. Uh oh, maybe I did use up all my firsts last week after all? Enter mum’s birthday. Excellent. A perfect opportunity to do something new  – make a birthday card for my mum. Luckily I already had one of those large coloured cardboard things that people use in school to make posters with (what are they called?). I could make mum a big card. With a hand-drawn star on the front, and on the inside a list of 50 things that my mum is (you know – loyal, compassionate, generous, mentor, loved), I have to say I was pretty proud of my creation. And my mum loved it. Winner, winner, chicken dinner. Week 2 sorted.

Or so I thought. Getting up at 445am the next day I realised that I didn’t have my running shoes for bootcamp. Horror, what to do? Then I remembered we were bootcamping at the beach, and for the first time ever I could do a workout without shoes on. With trepidation I started my first run without shoes. The sand was freezing but I felt…free. I also felt out of breath, but it was bootcamp so that was to be expected.

After our warm-up run we were told that part of the workout for the morning would involve getting in the ocean up to our waists. Whoa, hang on there, I thought; I am in my gym kit. You know, ¾ trousers and an exercise shirt. And it is 15 degrees. You want me to go in the water? Are you out of your freaking mind? What am I doing here?

I watched as others ventured in. It didn’t look like a lot of fun, especially when they came out dripping and then had to lie down in the sand and do sit-ups. Wet and gritty at 6am – not my ideal start to the day. But my turn rolled around and never one to back away from a task I ventured into the ocean. To my amazement the water was warm and it was easier than running along the beach. Not so bad then. I am, however, still trying to forget the rolling around in the sand in my gym gear whilst dripping with salty sea water. For the purpose of exercise. Moving on…

2 new things done this week – bargain! But wait, there’s more.

There I was hanging out on a somewhat frustrating Saturday feeling a little sorry for myself (ok, feeling a lot sorry for myself), and I get an invite from my mum to attend a foreign film at the cinema as part of a travelling international film festival. I usually avoid any film with subtitles. Hello, if I wanted to read I would read a book. But I needed to get out of the house, and this was my best offer. Correction, my only offer. So off I went to see “Where do we go now?”, a movie which won an award at the Toronto film festival or so the poster told me. And I admit, I really enjoyed it, and the subtitles did not annoy me as much as I thought they would. The movie was a mix of melodrama, music and satire, and it was both heart-warming and challenging. All in all I would recommend this film to anyone, even with the subtitles.

The next day I woke up feeling good, and started off on a 15km walk (the start of my training for a 100km walking adventure that will form part of my 52 week challenge. More on that in future weeks). Half way into my walk I stumbled across a vintage car show. The cars looked fabulous and entry was free so I decided to take a look around. I spent a lovely 20 minutes wandering through rows of renovated old cars from the early 1920’s onward. One beautiful car I came across had its own story of being passed down from grandfather, to father, to the current owner with pictures through the years. It was a lovely read. And, wait for it, I realised I had never been to a vintage car show before – strike up one more new thing for my 52 week challenge!

After my lovely morning of walking and car browsing I decided it would be nice to spend the afternoon doing something fun with my niece. In a flash of inspiration inspired by the balloon I was holding at the time (yes there are a lot of random things lying around my house) I suggested we do paper mache. My niece readily agreed and then I struck upon a problem – I had no idea how to paper mache. Thank goodness for the internet. 10 minutes online and I was an expert on the art of sticking newspaper to objects for fun. My niece and I whiled away a lovely afternoon outside getting covered in gunk and covering inanimate objects with newspaper and home-made flour glue to create, well, arty things.

Bazinga – 5 new things for the week achieved. I am on a roll now. But as one friend warned – I better slow down or I will quickly run out of new things to do in this little town I am currently residing in. Time to get creative and think up some fun new ideas for next week…

Introspective time-out

So what have I learnt this week?

Firstly I have learnt that you don’t always need to plan for new things. Sometimes they just fall into your lap. This week it was a virtual downpour that required absolutely no planning on my behalf. This situation could be used to support the theory that what you think you create. By thinking about participating in new activities, I attracted new activities (or at the very least I saw opportunities for new activities all around me that I may not have seen otherwise).

I learnt that by doing new things I could make other people happy and feel good about themselves, and in turn that makes me feel happy and good about myself.

I learnt that exercising in tight ¾ trousers in the ocean and in the sand creates friction where you really don’t want it and which isn’t altogether pleasant. I don’t recommend it.

I learnt not to judge a book by its cover (or don’t judge a film just because it has subtitles).

I also learnt that a path to nowhere can lead to somewhere you have never been and had never thought to be, but which provides an enriching experience to add to your journey. (Yep, the car show taught me that – who knew?!).

I learnt that the internet is a treasure-trove of goodness. Ok, I already knew that, but I did learn a lot about paper mache. Much more than I think anyone ever needs to know. Do you know that they actually make proper art from newspaper and flour glue? And that one woman has dedicated over 50 years of her life to paper mache. Ah yes, I also re-learnt the old saying – ‘each to their own’…!

So until next time… ‘remember that life is about living, not just existing’.

The beautiful setting for bootcamp at the beach. Such a view does take a slight edge off the pain (but only slight!)

Posted on October 17, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

